UPDATE September 2011:

Read my new post  20k Australians want in on class action against Vodafone

Original post follows:

__________________________

Executive summary:

  1. Jump up and down and make a lot of noise in Vodafone’s direction (contact their support line (1300 650 410), their Twitter account (@VodafoneAU_help)  and fax their complaints line (03 6210 3362)
  2. When you manage to connect with a human, try to act at least a bit nice and understand that ruining their day by acting like an asshat isn’t going to make them want to help you
  3. Tell them what your complaint is and what workarounds you’ve undertaken to attempt to solve the issue yourself (also proving that you’re not a muppet when it comes to tech). If you think it breaches terms of the contract, explain it. Mention that you know that you have the right to contact the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO) if the issue isn’t resolved satisfactorily
  4. Use the word “unacceptable”. It’s always worked well for me
  5. Tell them what you want to happen to resolve the issue, and give justification for it
  6. At least try to be fair in the negotiation if they want to, say, make you give back your iPhone in return for cancelling the contract
  7. Regardless of the outcome, be appreciative to your support person (a.k.a. don’t shoot the messenger) and thank them for their efforts

Full story:

For most of the last 10-15 years, I was a happy Vodafone customer. Until I got an iPhone 3GS in January this year on a 2-year contract.

iPhone + Vodafone = optional coverage, phone call connectivity and voicemail delivery.

In June, my car battery died, at home, causing the alarm to SCREAM INCESSANTLY AT ME THAT THE BATTERY HAD DIED. For 10 minutes, while sat in an area claiming to have full phone reception, I was unable to make a single call. It would either refuse to make the call, or would dropout.

Then, in July, while mum was still in hospital, I had a voicemail message that wasn’t delivered for three days. Turned out that it was a known issue and Vodafone had sent a notification text to every customer except me to tell me about the problem.

For a few months now I have been very open about my dream to ditch Vodafone and get an HTC Desire from Telstra. I’d   had enough of being Apple’s lapdog, too, because I knew my phone issues were just as much Apple’s fault as Vodafone’s. But to break my contract 16 months early was going to cost me over $1,000 under their Early Exit Fee clause, and I’d resigned myself to the fact that I was stuck.

But Thursday morning was the last straw when 3G coverage was non-existent for several hours. I didn’t even get a text message that had been sent to me the night before. Fired up, I sat on hold to Vodafone support for EIGHTY MINUTES and gave up in frustration. I sent DMs to their Twitter support account and sent a dirty fax to their complaints department:

I heard back from Kirsty from Vodafone’s support Twitter account and I have to tell you, this woman is a superstar. I emailed her all the workarounds that failed me (I hate being told by support staff to turn off 3G on my iPhone like I have NO IDEA how to do these things). I told her what my beef was and I told her what outcome I wanted:

Here’s where Kirsty earns her superstar rating: within 2 hours, Kirsty had agreed and processed the cancellation of my contract – 16 months early – without charing me the Early Exit Fee. All I have to do is return my iPhone next week.

Amazing. That should have cost me almost $1,100.

If the rest of Vodafone worked as well as Kirsty, then I’d still be with them.

But I’m with Telstra now, with my HTC Desire.  I have no idea how to use the Desire yet, but I’m working on it.

I still can’t quite believe that I actually got to break my contract for free!

Have you had success with breaking a contract with a mobile phone provider? How did you manage it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

59 thoughts on “How I cancelled my Vodafone iPhone contract without paying the Early Exit Fee

  1. I had a 24 month contract with Optus for an iPhone. I’d previously had a number of contracts with Optus and usually had no troubles apart from time to time when I had to deal with their technical team in another country. Optus has a cool feature called handset insurance and its something I had on every contract since I started with Optus. A friend who worked at an Optus store signed me up to the iPhone contract and I made certain that insurance featured on the account.

    When I lost my iPhone in a drunken state, I called Optus the next day to lock the phone and make an insurance claim – whoops, no insurance listed.

    I explained that I always had insurance, made certain my friend included it and that its obviously a mistake. I further made mention that I’d be happy to pay the premiums in hindsight to bring the policy up to date then make a claim. Optus would have none of this, so I called the TIO and then was directed to an Optus TIO Liaison.

    Contract cancelled, break fees of around $1,000 waived and I am also now with Telstra with a HTC Desire that I absolutely love!

    Posted on 8 August 2010 at 12:09 pm
  2. WOW, so they have their own TIO officer? That’s in-sane.
    Thanks for sharing your story Chris, nice to know that some of us get a win :)

    Posted on 9 August 2010 at 10:00 pm
  3. I am currently going through customer service hell with Vodafone – I have just posted my tale in a short story on whirlpool forums.
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1572389

    It’s good to know that victory is possible – I am hoping to get rid of this Vodafone contract and I am looking at a move to Telstra (At least I should get good network coverage)

    Posted on 9 November 2010 at 5:45 pm
  4. Urg, good luck with the fight Kevin. Don’t be too shy to tell them you’ll go to the TIO!

    Posted on 9 November 2010 at 7:36 pm
  5. Hi Laura – Guess What?
    I won!
    Went to the TIO a week later the Vodafone resolutions team called. I send back my phone and I am released from my contract – I have this month’s bill waived and I can port to another carrier at my leisure.

    I am now looking at making the switch to Telstra as well – at least I should get great network coverage.

    Kevin

    Posted on 18 November 2010 at 11:35 am
    1. Brilliant!!
      You get what you pay for with Tel$tra, but I love having full coverage on a mobile phone after that crap from Voda

      Posted on 21 November 2010 at 5:54 pm
  6. How do I get out of this crap service.
    how much is dialup speed now.it has to be better than this.

    Could some onw tell me how to get out this service please….please HElp me.

    our accounts are up to date
    MERCY please

    Posted on 9 January 2011 at 6:10 pm
  7. Hi

    After months and hours on the phone with Voda, they have finally agreed to cancel the contract. I have the latest iphone and been getting next to no coverage in Brisbane City and most suburbs throughout the Gold Coast.

    Anyway I am hoping they don’t want the box the phone came in back as I have no idea where I have put it. I think I must have thrown it out thinking it was the old phone’s box. Anyway I am on hold now again to ask them..wonder if I will be on hold for an hour again…Anyone know if they want the box back…

    Posted on 14 January 2011 at 8:46 pm
    1. congrats Shell!
      Between you, me and the keyboard – Voda never sent the satchel for me to return my iPhone! 5 months later and I’ve lent it to a friend who’s using it as an iPod. As soon as Voda sends the satchel I’ll happily send it back, but until then….!

      Posted on 14 January 2011 at 10:18 pm
  8. Hi, just got Optus to agree into cancelling my contract no charge as reception is non existent at my new house, prob a mix of reception and iPhone lack of antenae reception. Just need to send phone back in, wrote address down but would like confirmation of this from someone who has recently sent theirs as language barrier was a little hard in understanding over the phone.

    Also they weren’t clear in which order to do this.. Ie send phone, call up and cancel, then go to Telstra for new plan so can keep same number??

    Saw a few people went with htc desire on Telstra option.. How does this compare to iPhone for usage and reception? Would like a galaxy but on 99 cap no thanks!!

    Posted on 2 February 2011 at 12:47 am
  9. my fiance has the n97 mini. worst phone ever! he has to turn it off n back on several times a day. the internet barely works and when in a phone call depending on its mood it will restart itself so frustrating. i wonder if they will take it back and cancel contract for free hmmm.

    Laura that happened to me also its been almost 2 years i have been waiting for that satchel to return my iphone. i dont think they’d want it back now with a cracked screen lol

    Posted on 2 February 2011 at 2:23 pm
  10. Hi All, im currently with telstra and want to have my contract terminated free of charge. I have never got a bill for the actual 79 cap NOT EVEN ONCE>> i have been asking to have online billing set up for about 4 months so i can track calls.. and i have asked for voicemail 101 to be turned off as it charges me! I HATE telsta and the customer service or lack of customer service they provide.. im in a 24month contract and its only about 7months old )=

    PLEASE HELP do i have any rights to have this terminated?

    Posted on 14 February 2011 at 12:03 pm
    1. Oh shit yeh,
      All ya gotta do is get on the tio website and lodge an online complaint. Say everything you just posted plus _ that you’ve tried to resolve it over and over to telstra and they won’t help.. Telstra will call you back the next day asking what you want! You’ll get anything you want…new phone on same contract, bills waved, cancellation and bills wave OR all of the above! Just gotta be confident with em and be firm.
      I’ve done about 4 times and about to do it again! The best bit is, they send out a new phone, wave 6 months of bills (happened once) and they forget to send a return post pack for the current phone to send back! So I hocked the iphone I had spare for 400! Stoked! Did that 3 times in one 24month contract!
      Basicly telstra are so unbelievably incompetent they try there best make up for it…if you play your cards right and know where you stand. Your the customer paying good money for a service and a phone and if they can’t good up there end of the contract then you deserve to be compinsated.
      Good luck

      Posted on 30 December 2011 at 2:51 am
      1. People like you who arent genuine who ruin it for everyone. I know karma get you and if you scam like that you be locked up in know time with that kind behaviour. People pay more because people like you for insurance etc and actually fraud

        Posted on 7 June 2012 at 6:39 pm
        1. You sound like one my friends I had to ditch after dealing with his scams and lies for 10 years.

          Sorry but you’ll get karma spoonfed to you (aka Jailtime, police record) when you’ll least expect it. Doing it this way will definitely not work for you in your favor in the long term. And will also not work in your relationships to friends and family as well!

          Start being honest and decent. Not a userfag who pretends to be a confident con

          Posted on 7 November 2012 at 11:37 am
  11. I have had huge issues with Voda’s 3g coverage maps and the lack of 3g coverage I currently get within those ‘Full Coverage area’s’ I called Customer Service after I heard about the Voda GM’s sorry message on the radio. I got through and answered within 30 secs ..
    I know I know… Crap!! NO its true.. and I was transferred to a operator in India who offered me either 3 months free service”no cap costs, no mobile broadband costs or 50% off the contract cancellation charge.. There is a god.. But I would still prefer an outright contract cancellation no fee..
    Ken

    Posted on 23 February 2011 at 3:29 pm
  12. ive heard that if you call optus and complain about their crap service that you can exit without any fees, is this true?

    Posted on 11 March 2011 at 10:02 pm
  13. Hi I have parents living in Christchurch New Zealand and they have asked me to return home ASAP. I have a 2 year contract with vodafone with an iphone 4 yes with only 1 bar reception and only works if you hold your mouth in the right way. I also have wireless internet with them that is slow and not reliable. I have complained many times with no results. How do you think I should approach the situation about canceling my contracts with them? Would love some advise. Keen to get back to NZ but not wanting to pay a huge canceling fee due to poor provider for almost 3 years. Please help.

    Posted on 14 March 2011 at 4:17 pm
    1. Vickie, your situation is different to mine, but try using some of what I did and hopefully you’ll have some success.
      Good luck!

      Posted on 14 March 2011 at 9:44 pm
  14. Hi Vickie,
    I would call and explain the situation – especially with the recent earthquake in Christchurch there has to be exit clauses that allow you to terminate a contract – you will just have to work out if you want to pay out the remainder owing on the handset or send it back. If you haven’t already documented calls about poor coverage I’d start doing that now. If you get onto someone who actually understands where Christchurch is and can put those pieces together as to why you leaving is so important you should be fine – it may take contacting Kirsty on Whirlpool/Twitter or somehow getting onto the Resolutions team based in Tassie. All the best!

    Posted on 15 March 2011 at 12:44 am
  15. I’m having a problem, I live in the uk though, is there a way I can cancel my contract? Without paying the fee? If so, how do I go about doing so?

    Posted on 17 March 2011 at 3:29 am
  16. Mine happened last year with the Nokia N97. I had used Optus in this house and it seemed to work fine. When I went into the Vodafone store I specifically made sure I could get reception in my house.

    I could call, it would drop out. All the time! Mum was getting very sick of it. I was tired of having to remake calls. And so I called them. Vodafone were lovely to me. In the space of a phone call – which they had to call me back for three times! – I was out of my contract free of charge.

    That was within the first 3 months of my contract too.

    Then I had Optus until November last year. So worked out for a whole year that I had an active service with them. Their service was EXACTLY the same! Again I explicitly asked that I would have coverage and for the first little while, I didn’t notice it. Until then my voice would disappear on calls; I couldn’t hear others. This time I had an iPhone 3GS.

    I called and called. Refused everytime.

    I said I wasn’t willing to pay the contract fee out because they weren’t providing me with service, which is what they claimed to do.

    Eventually, I got a hold of a lovely person, who did everything that they could to get me out and let me keep my phone. $60 later I had my phone and no optus contract.

    Now I am with Telstra, and while it has its moments, it is seriously this stupid house!

    Posted on 18 March 2011 at 9:25 pm
  17. wow wow wow! loved reading this!!!

    you’re an expert! haha

    x

    Posted on 23 March 2011 at 2:02 pm
  18. I have had issues with Vodafone’s Mobile Broadband for three years, over two contract periods. Despite many complaints, mostly in the second term, over lack of 3G coverage in the Brisbane area and constant dropouts, I never got the outcome I wanted. The final straw came a few weeks ago, when I couldn’t get ANY coverage for over an hour. When it finally came to, the first thing I did was contact Vodafone, cite my complaint politely – but firmly – and stated the outcome I wanted, which was exit from the contract without penalty, and if they didn’t come to the party, the TIO would be involved. Of course they said no, and had me refer my complaint to Data Technical Services (those with Vodafone know this department is less than useful), with no positive outcome.
    After 10 days of no action, I contacted the TIO, citing all the details regarding my dissatisfaction and frustration with Vodafone’s product and customer service. Within 5 days, Vodafone contacted me BY SMS to say my contract had been terminated with no penalty, with a letter sent a fortnight later.
    I’ve now switched to a more reliable Telstra Bigpond service, which is also miles faster.

    Posted on 11 April 2011 at 5:12 pm
  19. I had a lot of trouble with Vodafone ever since cyclone yasi hit. My blackberry became impossible to use and I wanted to get out of my contract. Despite the terrible network, I cannot say a bad word about the customer service thanks to Lesley, who promptly responded to my complaint.

    If you wish to get out of your contract:
    1. Be polite! It’s not that particular customer service assistant’s fault that your phone isn’t working. The more polite you are, the more willing they are going to be in helping you.
    2. Write a letter that contains your situation, problems (using specific details) and your desired outcome (terminating the contract without the early exit fee). State that you know you are entitled to complain to the TIO if you do not recieve a prompt outcome.
    3. Email it, fax it, send it using the contact us page (http://vodafone.custhelp.com/app/ask), and sit tight for a response.

    Lesley responded to the letter I attached in the ‘contact us’ section, and immediately agreed to terminate my contract, all I had to do was return my handset. She also fixed a few of the problems I was having with my phone despite the fact that I was leaving vodafone and would only be using my phone for another week or so. This morning I got an email saying that my handset had been received and I was now free from my contract.

    Here is the letter I sent, feel free to model your own complaint letter from this one:

    Attn: Vodafone Customer Service
    Re: Termination of Contract

    Hi there

    I have been a loyal Vodafone customer for 8 years and have been happy with the service provided, until recently. Since January, I have been having endless problems with the coverage on my Blackberry. Some of these issues include:

    • I will receive a voicemail notification despite having my phone in front of me with apparent full reception.
    • I am constantly told that I cannot be contacted on my mobile, indicating that my phone does not have coverage and is most often incapable of receiving calls.
    • When I try and make calls, there is silence for around 30 seconds and then I am told that the call has failed.
    • Once I manage to get a call to connect, it will drop out.
    • Text messages will not send even after trying ‘resend\’ dozens of times.
    • Emails will take many retries before they are sent, and even after they appear to have been sent, later I will notice the red ‘x\’ beside them and they have actually failed.
    • I restart my phone several times a day and sometimes messages come through after I restart it.
    • I will receive full reception in my house one moment, and then it will be in ‘SOS\’ the next and I cannot use it.
    • Connecting to the internet is almost impossible. Most times I cannot load anything, and occasionally it works but takes several minutes just to load a google search page.
    • I have called Vodafone and the solutions I have been offered have been completely unhelpful.
    • Today I was on hold for 55 minutes before I hung up.
    • I have not had a response as yet from the Twitter support – http://twitter.com/#!/VodafoneAU_help

    I am currently paying $79/month, and I expect to be able to use the services that I pay for, especially on such an expensive contract. I cannot see any other resolution to these problems and have not been offered any by the phone support or in-store support that I have sought. As Vodafone is not complying with their contractual obligations, I am entitled to terminate my contract without paying the Early Exit Fee. I would be happy to return my handset and pay any outstanding payment for this month\’s billing period. Please understand that this is a last resort and I have attempted to exhaust all other means before coming to this conclusion.

    I would appreciate a prompt response, and am prepared to lodge a complaint with the TIO regarding this unacceptable level of service if this is not resolved. I am unable to continue paying for a service that I am not receiving.

    Regards,
    Jacinta

    Posted on 19 April 2011 at 2:06 pm
    1. Hey Jacinta,

      Thank you so much for this….

      I have been with Vodafone for 4 years and have been experiencing these problems since day one and I think this email is perfect. How long did it take to get all of it finalised?

      Bryan

      Posted on 26 March 2012 at 7:53 pm
  20. Im currently having the same problem, excepting the fact that my current handset I had to buy outright because they didn’t place insurance on my contract when I specifically requested it over 4 times through out the account opening process which put me out of pocket $901 for a new one.

    I spoke to manager of retention team and she said that basically she couldn’t be bothered to search for the old iphone that broke and returned to a Vodafone store, so I have to pay the money to cover the original handset – $352.

    Ironically they don’t seem to care too much that they lapsed on the insurance part, oh and that they incorrectly cancelled my phone when I asked them to cancel my mobile internet, nope just that they want their money.

    Posted on 21 June 2011 at 8:45 pm
  21. Hello Ellie,

    When you put your phone in for service / repair you would have been given some paperwork – Do you have that paperwork?

    If you do then you should be able to be released from repaying the orginal handset if it has been lost at the service centre,

    Documentation is critical if you want to keep the Telco’s honest.

    Kev

    Posted on 28 June 2011 at 11:02 am
  22. Hey Simmo, I’ve been using the HTC Desire for a while now and I love it – not a big fan of Telstra so I will port back to Optus when the time comes but for now, everything seems to be good. Just make sure to buy an car charger as this baby can suck up the power at times.

    Posted on 13 August 2011 at 12:14 pm
  23. Ive been stuck in this 24 month contract ($79/iphone4) for 11 months now and have finally been allowed to opt out due to me complaining for months about 3g, coverage, customer service and much more. but i have paid over $1000 in this 11 months and feel i should not have to return the phone. they say i can other wise return the phone or pay out the rest of the phone for $480. I asked them “is what i have paid so far not enough?” they said “most of what you have paid so far was for the plan” i replied “don’t you have to have service/coverage to have a plan?” it was pretty much free money for them if it wasn’t for the phone”, please tell me if i am in the wrong cause i feel they have taken enough from me and still owe me for wasting 11 months of my life.

    Posted on 22 August 2011 at 7:17 pm
  24. Good luck for those willing to go through the pain with Vodafone. I just gave up in the end and had my numbers ported out. Paid the early exit fee just to get away from them. I don’t suggest anyone else give up. They don’t provide an adequate service. Take them on and tell them so. Thye may improve the network one day…..

    Posted on 26 October 2011 at 2:56 pm
    1. Vodafone and their crappy service has been a constant stress in my life since January. After numerous marathon telephone calls with the various departments of Vodafone regarding my complaints (yes, complaints…) 3 months ago I was given three options, Buy a 3 sim card and see if that works better….lodge an ‘investigation’ into the service quality of my residential area OR take a 50% reduction in my bill for the next 3 months. Obviously, after experience loss of 3G and reception, phone drop outs and receiving significantly delayed messages I opted to contact the TIO. Within 24 hours I had received a call, and took a deal that saw me with free access for 3 months, and a promise that my area was being upgraded which would resolve my issues. If, at the end of the 3 months i was not satisfied with my service, they would release me from my contract, 11 months early. So today I contact Vodafone after still experiencing significant issues with Vodafone’s service, which is now affecting my job, only to be told that their computers say that my service area is fine, and they cant cancel my contract! After yet another marathon phone call with a technical support Manager, they agreed to cancel my contract as long as i returned my free phone, or alternatively, could keep it if i paid them for it. The reason i was given for them wanting it back – they need to return it to the manufacturer! Uh huh, sure! I feel as though the 9 months of crap service I paid for in the beginning of the year has more than paid back the phone, so i will be contacting the TIO to reactivate my claim.

      Posted on 26 October 2011 at 8:42 pm
  25. Im in the UK what is the tio? as i am currently writing a letter to vodafone attempting to cancel my contract early… many thanks

    Posted on 4 November 2011 at 8:36 pm
  26. Hi, i just cancelled my vodafone contract. Without any exit fee’s.

    It was very easy, took 1 phone call that lasted about 25 minutes.

    I had complained a few times before, which i think worked in my favour, also in my favour was the fact that they had had “outages” and “upgrades in process” in my area.

    First they offered me 15% off for 3 months, then they offered me free service for 3 months, then they conceded and told me they would send a satchel, and once I send my iphone 4 back my contract is terminated, no exit fees.

    In actual fact i rang up to complain about my mobile broadband (also with vodafone) but decided to attempt to get out of my vodafone iphone contract, as i had used my friends phone that was on telstra that was way faster, and it worked.

    i guess i may as well call back and complain about the broadband too….lol….not laughing at them, just happy to be off this crappy phone network

    Posted on 8 November 2011 at 6:45 pm
  27. I have been a vodaphone customer for five years so happy with there service that I encouraged my husband and son to take up a plan with them total monthly contract $105 per month. not once have I paid that my first bill 590 bucks. the outcome is they didnt write up the contracts I requested and no matter how many trips I make to innaloo crazy johns it cannot be resolved. now to add insult to injury after 4 phonecalls t support I cannot get into my account to check it and im certainly not handing my credit card details over t one of those dodgey telephone operators. I am so dissapointed once my contract is over im going bl to prepaid its just a nigjtmare

    Posted on 14 November 2011 at 10:26 am
  28. I had a very brief contract w vodafone days. They never delivered a phone and didn’t get my contract right. At least I got rid of it. You should have a 30 day cooling of period.

    Optus is a bit better. I get a human sometimes and occasionally I can understand them. The contracts are hideously expensive though. TPG sounds about the best but you need your own phone.

    I have always been against ithings. Apple stopped producing quality product at the Apple 2g. Lol.

    Posted on 22 November 2011 at 11:26 pm
  29. Yipee I just got out of my contract from Vodafone. I signed up new contract 2 months ago with Vodafone. Got iphone 4, the reception was so bad. Kept calling them for 2 weeks. wrote few letters to complaint section and nothing was getting done. was offered 2 months cap free only. So lodged a complaint with TIO and now they have released me without early exist fee. Gotto now return my iphone 4. TIO is the solution.

    Posted on 30 November 2011 at 2:06 pm
  30. Hi all! hope your all having a nice time off work and wishing everyone a happy christmas and a new yr… Ive got myself self a lil situation with voda, long story short, I’ve got them to cancel my contract (2 of them, 1 iphone 4 and galaxy s2) which is awesome coz I don’t get any coverage at my new place. Now they want the phones back. I’m happy to send the galaxy s2, but the iphone 4, I lost ages ago. They gonna charge me for that. Now I didn’t know that I was gonna have these issue with vodafone and come to canceling the contact. is there a way I can get out of it, like not have to send the phone back, which I don’t have anyway. Ill send the galaxy coz I got it, but not the iphone 4. ???

    Thanks guys!!

    Posted on 22 December 2011 at 11:18 am
  31. Ali. Unfortunately you do not actually own the phone outright until you have completed the contract. So in short you will have to pay what is outstanding on the actual phone payments. I have just been offered 3 months 1/2 payments due to the poor coverage with an option to cancel my contract and return the phone at no cost to myself if I am still not happy at the end of the 3 months, although I do reserve the right to cancel anytime anyway due to poor coverage and not providing a service I otherwise payed for. No matter what you do make sure they have entered it in the notes on their computer, which in my case they have.

    Posted on 2 January 2012 at 7:10 pm
  32. hi i am in the process off trying to cancel my vodafone contract as i have shit reception, iv had 2 phones within the last 12 months that have had faults iv had enough off there bullshit i want out. it’s like each time i ask i want to cancel my contract they say ring back in so many hours it is pissing me off & stressing me out. iv had enough and want out. i don’t care if i have to pay the remaining about off $350 for the phone as long as its cancelled and im out. iv had enough. i want to keep my phone but they said that i have to send it back even tho i have paid for over half off it. so they aint getting it back no way. do you know if i can go instore and cancel it? im so over this crap and want out. thanks any help would be great

    Posted on 17 January 2012 at 9:59 pm
  33. Thanks for the tips. Just called and got my partner and I’s contracts. They are sending out bags to send our iphone 4’s back to them.

    No exit fees even though we both had just over a year to go on our 2 year contracts.

    Good thing is i had no need to get angry, just made sure I had an answer to everything they said that made their service come across so unacceptable that even they couldn’t deny it.

    Switching to telstra.. now just gotta decide what new phone I want!

    Posted on 19 January 2012 at 3:55 pm
    1. How did you manage that one. They won’t talk to me.

      Posted on 6 March 2012 at 10:39 pm
  34. i got my voda phone contract in last year feb, but only one month use got wet in rain, try i contact voda they send me around ,i pay to fix by them send me back, nothing done. i paying 59$ for htc windos for month, now more than year i paid i didn’t use facilities too, been busy with kid no time for hours customer service call to end they take 2, 3 hours to finish. now when i contact them they want cancelation fee, same as year ago,can any body help me didnt got phone insurance for it plz help me

    Posted on 5 March 2012 at 5:06 pm
  35. omg! I am so glad I came across this. Loyal customer over 15 years. Phone stops working and they pinn it on water damage. The phone has never seen water in its life so if its water then it must be a leaky battery.

    they wont replace it.
    tell me to get out of contract it will cost me $700
    or to go claim it on insurance which will now cost me $325

    i hate them more than you can ever imagine i wish to juts get out of my contract so I can go to virgin :(

    Posted on 6 March 2012 at 10:37 pm
  36. I have just gotten out of my contract with Voda 14 months early because the reception is ridiculous, they will cancel it when i return my phone only problem is it has water damage? Any ideas how this onne will work out???

    Posted on 8 March 2012 at 8:23 pm
    1. this Company Is in such a deep Mud of Complaints & Contract cancelling That They don’t Have Time To Hold anyone responsible For Contract Termination Or Holding them Responsible For Mobile Phones Handsets.

      A Contact Is A Agreement Between Two Parties Involved , That In Return Of Funds A Person Or Company Provides,The Other Party Supplys You With A SERVICE.
      Here You All , Have Paid To Vodafone On Monthly Basis & In Return You HAVE NOT RECEIVED The services That They Promise On The contact. so Since One Party is in violation Of The Contact, The Contract Is No Longer Valid.

      Just Go On Thier Vodafone Reception Map, Check Out The Blue, Yelow & Green Reception Dots Of Your Postcode & Verify It With Your Received Mobile Phone Active Signal Lines & See , How Much Of Lies involved.
      Take A Picture (Or Colour Print) The Vodafone Coverage Checker from Your postCode & Then take A Picture Of Your Mobile Signal Lines & Keep Both On Record. Now send Them An Email & Siting The Reception & Thier CONTRACT Violation Agreement (to Provide You with Service in Return Of Your Money Paid) & Cancell The Contact.
      Thier Service Is Still Excuse Me “Shit” & They are Still lieing about Thier New Network & All.
      Rest Assured That It Wouldn’t Be Any Vodafone In two Years.

      Posted on 22 March 2012 at 2:23 pm
  37. I have some question ! ! ! I have signed a contract with vodafone but i have to overseas ! Consequently, if I don’t pay termination fee

    Posted on 13 March 2012 at 4:31 am
  38. my father put all our work phones on vodafail accounts, for no reason other than to save $$$. Now it is virtually impossible to reach a sales rep when they are on the road and if you do you cannot talk for more than 2 mins before the call drops out.

    Posted on 18 March 2012 at 6:22 pm
  39. I was in contract with voda for about a month when I noticed coverage issues were pretty major. With a newborn baby I wanted reliable service. I made the wrong choice with the voda/iPhone contract. I contacted them immediately, told them my issues and they let me out of contract. Or so I thought. I agreed to keep the handset just to be rid of them, until they charged my credit card $158 more than agreement stated. After at least 1 call a week they agreed to send out a reply post envelope, I send back the phone and they reimburse me. Or so I thought again. They never ordered the envelope. Twice again no envelope ordered. What were they doing while putting me on hold? No notes to prove it either. Spoke to TIO, thy had me speak with voda resolution team, barely any notes at all and won’t look into the known fact that I was calling at least once a week and there are documented calls to voda lasting at least 30 mins and yet no notes are documented. Strange? Dishonest! Unprofessional! Should be shut down. Btw it was 2010 I first contacted them, it’s now 2012. If they order you an envelope call back to see if it was actually sent. Mine wasn’t now because it’s been so long I have to keep the crappy phone

    Posted on 21 March 2012 at 2:40 pm
  40. I want to cancel my vodafone but they will not let me cancel it and i cannot use it becouse the cost and it keeps getting higher it is getting since we are not using it we are still being cost for it they wont let me disconnect it

    Posted on 26 March 2012 at 4:11 pm
  41. I’m Rajesh. I’m using vodafone from the year 2006. This network is ruined & ruining my money many times. But I couldn’t change my number, bcz my number has registered in many job sites & given the same number to all my friends,relations. So, now i’m going to change this f**k network using mobile number portability & also, going to convert all my family member’s sim network tooo. I lost so much money because of this bullshit network. Friends, Plz don;t use & lose ur valuable money.

    Rajesh R
    rajez@in.com

    Posted on 23 May 2012 at 4:36 pm
  42. Thanks Rajesh,

    totally agree with you on that one. I use my phone for work and also as a ‘safety line’ for friends that have suicidal intentions at the worst of times.

    I have explained repetitively to vodafone that I have no coverage while at work (8hrs/day 5days/week), no coverage all throughout the skirts of Melbourne, and that it’s jeopardizing my work, the safety of my friends who rely on me being a contact that they can reach, and that they are not delivering service. they called me once to try and ‘resolve the issue’ – the call dropped out 4 times before they got the idea that it’s impossible to call my phone.

    I have received 3 months 25% discount on my plan. After 3 months, I called again to complain, and they extended another 3 months. Eventually I pointed out again the problems with not having coverage during the day, and that I wish to change companies without penalty, and they refused to let me out (instead offering a 50% discount for 4 months off my plan).

    Do these people not realise how reliant we are on our mobiles these days? I’ve missed important calls or notifications, I have had maybe 20% of the day receiving good coverage, and I cannot use their service… I’ll call them again today and mention that this is the last time I ask, I will be involving the ombudsman from now on (I have documentation of how often I called/ref. no.s from phone calls/service issue complaint emails/etc

    Blergh… going to Optus soon I think

    Posted on 4 September 2012 at 3:09 pm
  43. Nice work bro, wish me luck :)

    Posted on 6 May 2013 at 4:31 pm
  44. im in the middle trying to get out of my contract, as i was promised better coverage. my phone sits on sos at my house, idont get enough coverage to call, send texts ect until im at the end of my street. its a joke. i also have about 14 months left on my contract. but they constantly tell me to turn my phone off and on.. they never acknoledge my request for termination on the contract. i would be happy as larry to send my phone back

    Posted on 16 May 2013 at 11:15 am
  45. I have been trying to cancel my contract with Vodafone for 2 months to no avail. According to them, the reason for my constant dropouts is because they are “upgrading their network”. They have told me that to exit the contract, I have to pay $1500 minimum, even after saying I would send the phone back. So, it’s off to the TIO I go!

    Posted on 4 July 2013 at 5:46 pm
  46. Vodafone are a total and utter joke, 6 out of 12 months the service has had an area fault, they do not do anything, other than laugh at my complaints, and tell me nothing at all can be done, that they are looking into the fault and there is no time scale for the problem to be fixed. 6 months faulty out of 12 is simply not good enough, they seem to think it is acceptable.

    Posted on 11 July 2013 at 8:17 pm